Gouldian head colour preference

Includes Species Profile.
Boma

Hi All
This is my first post. I have been breeding gouldian finches for about three years now. The cock bird of one of my red headed pairs is split for black. So some of the hens that the pair produce are black heads. From my reading gouldians tend to pair up with their own head colour and that has been my experience as well. Before the breeding season I let all head colours mix in a large Avery to select their own mate. My question is since the black headed hen is imprinted by the red headed parents, will she tend to pair up with a black head or a red head?
Tiaris

I have all Gouldian head colours (although mostly black & yellow-headeds in recent years) and have been breeding them with many mixed head-colour pairs as well as same head colour pairs each season. In over 40 years of breeding Gouldians I have not noticed any preference toward or away from the same head colour. ie. I have found that the most compatable self-selected pairs are a genuine across the board mix of same and different head colours and that head colour has absolutely no bearing on mate selection, compatability, sexes of progeny or rearing success whatsoever.
GouldianGuy

I'm pretty sure the myth about head colour preference was thrown out when the author of the paper was found to be manipulating the data.
Tiaris

Really?
hanabi

GouldianGuy wrote: 12 Jul 2017, 21:49 I'm pretty sure the myth about head colour preference was thrown out when the author of the paper was found to be manipulating the data.
You're talking about Dr Sarah Pryke, correct? Is that simply a rumour, or has it been proven she was "manipulating the data"? I've read many of her research papers on Gouldians so I am surprised to hear of a suggestion of academic dishonesty.
vettepilot_6
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^