Tri Colour master builder?

Includes Species Profile
Zeddy

Hey guys I am new to the TCPF and my male seems to be in the mood. He has been chasing the hen non stop and has been starting to build a nest or three :wtf:.
Now he spent a good few days on the first nest(right hand one in pic) then over the last few days he has been building up the middle nest....
Now I thought the hen might have deemed his first effort not suitable for kids :lol: but this morning I see that the first nest has been built up some more.

I have no idea is he building both nests and lets the hen choose or is he bored and tired of tag and just building for the hell of it and using all the old millet stalks I give them to good use.

Thanks

Michael
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Zeddy

Well just went out to have a look and now he was in the left hand nest and building it up and just sat there and looked at me as I can only sit there and shake my head. I swear this guy is building these nests for the RFPF in return for them not to east all the green food mabye?

I have no idea lol

Edit here he is after the "tri colour switch" he pulled on me(left hand nest) :think:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
elferoz777

I found that with mine they first hid in a nest box as they were quite timid and I had certain other species of finch harass them....

What exactly are you keeping them with??

Mine ever only built one nest for breeding.

I had my first this year but eggs were clear and currently have eggs in nest no 2....

Good luck with them
Breeding Project 2020-2025.
agate mosaic canaries, agate yellow mosaic canaries, red zebs, self bengos and goldfinch mules.
Zeddy

I have 2 pair RFPF, 2 pairs of stars and 1 painted pair.
They dont really get pushed around that much more so from a cocky star but it doesnt happen often and only seems to happen when the food comes out(greens and millets)