Gouldians -What babies will I get?

Ask your questions about breeding finches here.
escapin

Hello
I'm quite new to breeding finches. I've got a yellow gouldian hen and normal colour black faced cock bird that are breeding. Just wondering will I get a mixture of colours? or normal looking birds carrying the yellow gene?
Lachlan1

There are so many variables... If the hen is a euro yellow and the cock is normal then you'll get SF cocks but if any of them are split to other mutations then it opens you up to so many more possibilities. Here is a good site that will help with most genetic questions http://www.gouldianfinches.eu/en/geneti ... a/english/.

Good luck with them.
escapin

wow.. didnt think it was quite that complex. I dont even know type of yellow gouldian I have, it's just yellow with a lilac chest, was pretty cheap ($40) so obviously nothing fancy.

I guess I'll wait a few weeks and see what pops out. That link was cool though thanks
elferoz777

So I am assuming you have a euro yellow hen and a normal green back with a purple breast (PB).

All your hens will be yellow with the cock birds being normal or splits. The splits can be easily identified once they colour up. They will be diluted in appearance.

Good luck and make sure to post photos.

You can get yellow hens from split yellow cocks paired to normal hens as the mutation is sex linked and if the birds are white breasted the colour on the back changes yet again between yellows and split to yellow. Ill stop now before I do your head in trying comprehend it all. It used to give me headaches when I was first leaning how it all works.
Breeding Project 2020-2025.
agate mosaic canaries, agate yellow mosaic canaries, red zebs, self bengos and goldfinch mules.
Tiaris

No Euro yellow is dominant co sex-linked. You cannot get splits at all.