Canary gender confusion

Ask your questions about breeding finches here.
Daviese

Hi
I am very new to finches but I have a few questions about my canaries. I have what I thought was 2 pairs. Around a month ago the 2 so called females made nests. Then I notice that one of the so called males seemed desperate sit in the nest on the eggs. Every time it did this the other canary would come back and shoo it off. Then I noticed the so-called male built its own nest and laid and sat on 3 eggs. So I was pretty sure I had 3 females and 1 male. After a week of sitting on the eggs she turfed them out of the nest and hasn't gone back. The confusing thing now is I have noticed that 1 of the other so called females often leaves their nest and comes over and mounts the other female. It isn't in an aggressive manner and it does appear to quite consensual and affectionate. After which it will return to its nest. So what do I Have? A nest building male? Or a pair of lesbians? I have since read that canaries should be kept in seperate but mine all seem to get along ok.. at least....they are at the moment. Interested in your thoughts.
Thanks
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Canarys can generally be kept in comunal avairies. But you may get the odd very agressive cock bird. Watch your birds and listen to them. Are any of them doing a full throated whistle? If so you have a cock. Put different coloured plastic rings on each bird so it is easy to be sure which bird is which. If you have 4 canaries you need 3 nests to begin with. Every lady must have a choice. Good luck in sexing them.
LML
LML
deegs

Three hens and a cock. Sounds like your cage might be too small. Might be best to remove one hen.
Red