Gouldian sneezing

Is your finch sick or not well? Find out why.
elferoz777

I am only new to goulds and having kept them for 12 months now I have decided to chuck some boxes in for them. I have only lost 1 bird in the 12 months and that bird got stuck in a fixture.

I have a newly acquired gould.

I was watching him in the quarantine cage and every now and then he seems to sneeze similar tot hat of a canary.

My others used to do it every so often but it was not a frequent thing.

could this be a reaction to something in the air? or a sign of something worse?

I did rearrange my brush and aviary which could have made some dust.
Breeding Project 2020-2025.
agate mosaic canaries, agate yellow mosaic canaries, red zebs, self bengos and goldfinch mules.
maureen_g

I am just a beginner myself but I would be concerned it could be air sac mite. I treat all new Goulds with Avimec for Budgies which treats scaly face and air sac mite (I have been assured by the Vetafarm rep). It's a drop on the skin treatment so it's easy to use. Others might have better ideas though. I actually treat all new finches with this.
elferoz777

Thanks Maureen

I was looking for ivamec but only vets can dish that out.

i will get some of the avimec and apply to my bird.
agate mosaic canaries, agate yellow mosaic canaries, red zebs, self bengos and goldfinch mules.
matcho

Elferoz,