sick finches

Is your finch sick or not well? Find out why.
birdlover

hi. i'm new to aussie finch forum. i was wondering if anyone can help me out. my finches have started dying. it started with my red faced parrot finches and i've just lost a gouldian and my european gold finches look like they could be next. they seem to fluff up and sleep all the time and are very lethargic. i'm sort of just starting out with my birds. they are my hobby. not into breeding or anything so i don't know a lot about them. if anyone can please help me. i love my birds and it's heart breaking to watch them die :cry:
Page0044

Hi Birdlove and welcome to AFF. Sorry to hear of your losses and it is hard to determind there problem as tere are many things that could be wrong. Need to know where there housed and type, what there diet is and they need fresh water every day, do they get a draft on them.
Cheers
Greg
Mickp
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

if you can help us by answering the things Greg mentioned then I am sure someone will be able to give you some advice.
has anything been sprayed near the birds cage/aviary recently.
one of the first things to do for sick finches is to provide them with a heat source such as a heat lamp and to make sure that they can get away from any draft that could enter their home
Mick.
Finch addict and rodent hater.
gomer

page0044 wrote:Hi Birdlove and welcome to AFF. Sorry to hear of your losses and it is hard to determind there problem as tere are many things that could be wrong. Need to know where there housed and type, what there diet is and they need fresh water every day, do they get a draft on them.
Gday Birdlove.

Also how long have you had them?Where do you live?where did you get them from?Has there been a sudden change in weather?Have they been treated for worms and coccidia?

If you can answer these questions we have asked we may be able to help more.Will be watching for your response.
Keeper of Australian Grass Finches
Pete Sara