Foods rich in vitamin A and E

For all your questions about diet and food for your finches
Rob

Can people let me know what they feed their finches rich in these vitamins? Any tips
gomer

Vitamin A carrot, Peas, Kale Cod liver oil, spinach, dandelion, bok choi, pak choi
Vitamin E spinach again, broccolli somtimes, Kale

Personally I dont have alot of luck getting the birds to eat Kale.
Keeper of Australian Grass Finches
Craig52

Personally i think every body has gone mad feeding vegetables to finches, they are grass finches not vegetable finches. I have been breeding finches for some 50 years with good results just feeding good quality seeds and seeding grasses plus livefoods during the breeding season that contain these vitamins and many more so they should not be lacking.
Twice a week during the breeding season and once a week out of the breeding season they are fed a good vitamin/mineral and amino acid powder dusted over their sprouted seed.
As i use frozen green french white millet i am able to use this when seeding grasses are not available for the finches that may breed through our cooler months so they don't lack this when they are not breeding or in a holding aviary, after all it is a green seed full of nutrition.
I know every one is just trying to give their finches the best diet they can but over feeding them these additional vitamin extra's is a waste of time as they just excrete it in their droppings as their internal gut can only tolerate small doses.
To get finches into breeding condition, all you need to do is feed copious amounts of seeding grasses and livefoods and direct sunshine to start the internal breeding cycle, this is where they get most of if not all of the vitamins/minerals and other essentials from.
:silent: Craig
Rob