Books & license

Need some general finch keeping help? Ask your questions here.
Skinch

Hi all, I am after a good book that covers all Aussie finches, I also would like to know what finches I can keep without having a license, not that I would object to getting one but I'm only new at this and would prefer to start off slowly. I have been told that gouldians & zebs get on so I think that's what I will start with. Any info would be appreciated.
Tiaris

In NSW native species exempt from registration are Star, Blue-faced Parrotfinch, Painted, Gouldian & Zebra. The first 4 are far better mixers than Zebras.
Skinch

Thanks, the more I read the more I like the zebs, the little flower would like me to get some double bars as well, so I'm guessing I will need to be licensed. I think I'm going towards the gouldians to add some colour to the aviary. Where do I go to get the license? Can you apply online ?
starman

Skinch wrote: 17 Apr 2017, 09:52 Where do I go to get the license? Can you apply online ?
Skinch,

Just Google 'NSW Native Animal Keeper's Licence'....it can be done online in about 5 minutes. This licencing scheme is currently under review and may be comprehensively overhauled in the near future.

An excellent book is Russell Kingston's 'The Finch....a breeder's companion', not cheap, but it may be all you will ever need.
Sm.
Avid student of Estrildids in aviculture.
Skinch

starman wrote: 17 Apr 2017, 14:33
Skinch wrote: 17 Apr 2017, 09:52 Where do I go to get the license? Can you apply online ?
Skinch,

Just Google 'NSW Native Animal Keeper's Licence'....it can be done online in about 5 minutes. This licencing scheme is currently under review and may be comprehensively overhauled in the near future.

An excellent book is Russell Kingston's 'The Finch....a breeder's companion', not cheap, but it may be all you will ever need.
Thanks starman, I will look for that book & check out the license stuff.
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^