nest thievery-help!

Need some general finch keeping help? Ask your questions here.
mickenglish

I added some new finches to the aviary, including a pair of cutthroats. Within half an hour the cutthroats had moved into the Firetails nest. I wouldn't mind but the firetails have been sitting on a clutch of eggs for at least a week. I tried to catch the cutthroats with a view to caging them separately for a week or two but I am not very good at it. Any suggestions?
Mick
vettepilot_6
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Painteds probably wont go back now anyway. ...but two people amd a net would be fastest way to catch them 😉
The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long after the Sweetness of Cut Price is Forgotten
Rod_L

are the cut-throats looking after the firetail eggs? if yes, let them :)

if not, be grateful they only took over a nest with eggs. Once the firetails get use to the new birds they should make a new nest and start again.

what else is in the aviary besides the firetails and cut-throats?
death to all cats & ants
mickenglish

Hi folks, I checked in later tonight and it appears that Mrs firetail is back in possession of her nest and eggs. I'll continue to monitor the situation but I don't mind confessing that I was aggrieved when the cutthroats just moved in on the Firetail nest- it offended my sense of order and fairness.

Rod-L, it is a bit of a "stamp collection": I have a pair of red face Gouldians (feeding young) a pair of blackface (nesting and laying), 2 pairs of firetails (1 pair incubating and the other pair appear to be nesting), a pair of charcoal Zebras (who are nesting for the second time - the first clutch was infertile), a pair of red face Star finches who are paired up but don't yet appear to be nesting, a pair of Orange breasted finches (added today), a pair of Ruddys (added today), a pair of Cordon Bleues (added today) and the Cutthroats which I added today.