A little help please -- Male or female

Need some general finch keeping help? Ask your questions here.
Luppo

Hi all,
New on here so hope everyone is doing ok and looking forward to reading an awful
lot of posts in the next few weeks.
I'm relatively new to finches and was just looking for a little help with the sex of this zebra finch , i was thinking female
but it has a very light cheek patch which only males have , is this correct .
Any help would be great .
thanks in advance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Craig52

I'm fairly sure red strain zeb hens have the cheek patch although not as strong as cock birds.
Rod_L

Males have the orange cheek patch, females don't.
Males have a red beak and females have an orange beak.

I would say it is female.

Make sure she has a nest to sleep in at night.
death to all cats & ants
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

In Red Zebs the females have a lighter version of the males cheek patches. She is a female Red Zeb. I have a number of Red Zeb hens with cheek patches even darker than hers. Put her to a normal fawn cock with the biggest chest band you can find - if you can't find a Red cock for her. Enjoy.
LML
LML
Craig52

Thanks for clarifying that FB. :thumbup:
E Orix

I was informed that apparently you can't have splits in the Red Zebras.
If this is so if you put a fawn etc to a red then you should get red chicks.
Not sure if there is a ratio,the last two nests that have fledged were pair one
3 reds and a grey pair 2, 2 reds and a grey and to back the others up hens do have
an orange cheek patch
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^