Moving nesting Zebs

Includes Species Profile.
maureen_g

I have a nesting pair of zebs whose eggs are due to hatch at any time. They are in an aviary with a pair of Stars, a pair of WB goulds, 2 pair of double bars and non-breeding painteds. My dilemma is that there are two nests with eggs in them near the zebs. I assume one lot belongs to the stars. The other lot is anybodys guess. I would like to move the zebs with nest/babies to a breeding cage as I'm worried the zebs will interfere with the other nests. I would appreciate any advice on this matter.
Trilobite

Gday Maureen,
I am no expert having never bred Zebs or Stars, but I propose a simple acronym - KISS - keep it simple sailor - if they have nested within close proximity to each other and have almost finished incubation and have not deserted their respective nests then leave them do what they do best - nest and raise babies!! You will find that mostly they are very resilient (I have golden song sparrows raising chicks in a nest literally built on top of a crimson finch nest also with chicks) - they may have the occasional spat but unless they start harming each other I would sit back and enjoy the ride.

IF you do get to convincing yourself you must shift a nest, I would do the zebs only as they are likely to be less prone to deserting. Be prepared, do it first thing in the morning, do it quickly and walk away and let them settle back in for the day - fingers crossed. Most other species generally wont desert the nest unless really pushed.

Don't stress, just take the time to observe and let be if you can.
Cheers
Trilobite
maureen_g