Advice needed!!!

White Rumped and Black Rumped.
Includes Species Profiles.
maureen_g

I am a beginner and have made many mistakes. Three weeks ago I bought 2 pairs of DBs and put them in an aviary with a pair of zebs (eggs due to hatch any day), pair of stars (eggs in nest but not yet sitting), pair of WB goulds, and non-breeding painteds (the hen is too young). Well I didn't expect the DBs to do any breeding but I put in some upright branches and threw some dry grass so they could make a roosting nest. Well both pairs have made nests - one in a gouldian box and the other in a cane basket type nest - and both seem to be sitting on eggs. A few days ago I had checked and there were 3 eggs in each nest. Didn't know who they belonged to until I saw the DB go in there! Since then I don't go anywhere near the nests. The nests are all at he same high level in aviary and rather close. That part of the aviary has a quarter sheet of colorbond running vertically so most nests are quite secluded. But not the gouldian box being used by 1 pair which faces out into the aviary. Sometimes I can see a tiny face peeping out when standing outside! They aren't spending much time out in the flight any more but come out after I put in the seeding grasses and twice a day when I put the mealies in. They will brazenly hop onto the floor and eat the mealies whilst I am outside quietly watching. I am giving them 8 small mealies twice a day. Is this enough? They demolish them pretty fast. Is there anything else I should be doing or not doing? I don't fancy my chances of getting babies because the aviary is too small and the zebbies are there. But all seems well at the moment. They weren't supposed to do this!!! :crazy: :o :?
SamDavis

Hi Maureen.