Concerns over Swamp Grass Harvesting

List what type of plants you keep in your aviaries/cages
GregH

Last weekend I collected some swamp grass for my birds to nest with. I've never done this before and went about it the way I'd seen hay made - mow, dry, windrow and bail. Actually I just cut it by hand with a sickle and died it on concrete slab at home before bagging it. I have since discovered that it's more common to wait until the heads are died off as they break off and can be raked up to collect a clean and dressed sample. The dressed samples do look nice but without a diversity of stem sizes the birds are deprived of the range of grass that are needed in normal nest construction. So I initially thought the cut and dry method might provide a better product however I noticed that after I bagged the grass I was left with a cup-full of seed. This seed would have fallen to the ground where it was harvested had I used the rake method and replenished the seed store to next season but I took it away. I'm only one person and won't have much of an impact but I wonder what happens if others continue to harvest like this. Sites where you can harvest swamp-grass for nesting are apparently not common and the grass itself Lachnagrostis filiformis is listed as "Near Threatened" by the Atlas of Living Australia. So now I'm left feeling slightly guilty about my inadvertent harvest but if anyone in SE Qld who has the space and inclination to grow it likes to PM me I'll post the seed for them to try.
Craig52