Green-backed Purple-breasted Gouldians

Includes Species Profile.
TomDeGraaff

I am no expert on Gouldian colours so I am probably going to show my complete ignorance!

I wonder why so many people refer to the normal, wild-type Gouldian as "green-backed" as opposed to "blue-backed" (parblue?), yellow-backed (which one?) and the dilute-backed (sort of understandable).

It seems to me that other species are not usually referred to that way (although "red-faced" star also seems to me an oxymoron).
Same with "purple-breasted".

I suppose I'm about to answer my own question when I say it usually happens when a combination of mutations occurs. Maybe it clarifies the characteristics of the bird but is it necessary?

Shouldn't people looking for or breeding Gouldians know what characteristics a normal Gouldian has? Shouldn't we assume the normal charcteristic if nothing is said? For instance a GB PB means normal, doesn't it? Are we on track to treat the wild colours as just another choice rather than the original adapted species?

I just think anyone who has these birds or is wanting to breed them should know this. Sorry to pick on Gouldians but a recent advert for them sparked my questions. Am I being too picky? I do have that problem sometimes ! :)
Tiaris

I'll add to that with my gripe: "white-breasted normal" erks me. Nothing against the bird at all, white-breasted just ain't normal.
Blue Cuban

Same here.
If you tell me you have a red,black or orange/yellow head normal gouldian I expect a purple breast and a green back.

I think it's one of those things we just let slide.

Rich.
Hobby finch Keeper
garyh

When you sell gouldians the amount of people that ring you that know very little or nothing about the birds is amazing,so to state the obvious just makes it easier sometimes,and i agree about the white breasted ,garyh
Craig52

Tiaris wrote:I'll add to that with my gripe: "white-breasted normal" erks me. Nothing against the bird at all, white-breasted just ain't normal.