What version of Star is this :)

Includes Species Profile.
Finchfam

Hi
I've never kept Star finches but I have just inherited a single specimen. It appears more variegated than any of the native sub species, but maybe not?? So I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what they'd call it. Sorry about the quality of the photos. I just quickly took a couple when I had a minute. And just to demonstrate my complete novice status, am I correct in assuming it's a boy?
Cheers
Michael
Starfinch1.jpg
Star finch.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
When all is said and done, more is said than done.
arthur

It's a boy . . and it's a pied, which is where there is a bit of a dilemma

Most pieds are regarded as 'dominant' in their genetic transfer . . which should mean that mated with a 'normal type' hen all babies will be pieds

Some pieds though are 'recessive' in transmission . . which is a different kettle of fish altogether . . and can be discussed later

But thirdly this bird looks like it might be a 'grizzle-pied' . . which bird geneticist Terry Martin believes is the result of the actions of more than one pair of genes

As a beginner this will be all uncharted territory . . and gobbledygook . . but there are people who can help

If you feel confident enough, I suggest that you put it to a normal hen and keep ALL young . . whether pied or not

If you don't feel confident enough, seek an experienced breeder of Stars that you can trust, and come to some arrangement regarding breeding and sharing of young

This could be quite a valuable bird in 'mutation' terms . . and possibly in monetary terms

Also tell the breeder from whom you 'inherited' the bird to keep all of his stock as they will be important in any breeding program that is set up
Finchfam