Saving a Black cheek Zebra Finch

Is your finch sick or not well? Find out why.
FinchCanaryBreeder

I am new to finches and I recently lost a finch that was sleeping a lot. One of my Black cheek Zebra Finches has fallen ill with the same symptoms.

He is sleeping a lot with his head tucked although he does eat and drink. His plumage doesn't look great and he sits mostly puffed up. I would like to see if I can diagnose the problem while its early in the hopes I can get him back on track.

All my finches are slowly going the same way, most of them have diarrhea others look healthier but I have a feeling my flock wont last long. They are all itching and preening excessively and beak wiping.

I have reason to believe I have a parasite problem which is going to affect the entire flock. My Black Cheek Finch will be the next one to perish who I want to save

I have cleaned the aviary yesterday and sprayed all the nest boxes with multi use anti mite, parasite bird spray which is the only thing I can find other than having to order stuff online like Diatomaceous Earth and S76 which I have ordered but it can't come any sooner, it could take a week or two before it arrives, meanwhile my poorly Black Cheek Zebra Finch will be going down hill and others to follow.

I have been putting a few drops of apple cider vinegar into there drinking water in the hopes that might help them.

Would Lemon grass be of any help?

If anybody has any recommendations on what I could try would be much appreciated.
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

1st questions.
1. Are the birds indoors or out?
2. Have you recently changed anything or added new birds.

If they have diarrhea it does not sound like parasites. Might be best to put them on a clear water and plain seed diet 1st up.
Itching and preening a lot can be caused by parasites, but also by excess humidity.

With the answers to the above questions and the action suggested above, I hope we can help you.
LML
FinchCanaryBreeder