New to finches - but love these birds so MUCH!

Need some general finch keeping help? Ask your questions here.
snomys

Hi

I recently adopted a male zebra finch, his name is Sabito and he's about 1 year old as I was told.

When I was younger my family had an African Grey parrot, so I have some history with taking care of a caged bird, and since I have taken care of my little finch I think he's definitely looking more sprightly and happy, which makes me happy too.

I love the character of these birds, although Sabito is not tame and is frightened of humans hands, specifically the hand. I can put my face quite close to him, but the hand he keeps some distance from.

I have a couple of questions, I hope you don't mind me asking as a newbie, I searched google alot on these matters, but I thought I'd come to a place where answers might be more targeted at this particular species.

1. I understand finches do better in pairs or groups. I would love Sabito to have a female to share his life with, and although I've seen numerous videos online of a coupled pair sharing a cage, I am curious to whether and why and if, would it be possible to have a pair cohabiting but without actually making babies? I can't take on more responsibility of more finches, so thats my reason for asking.

Perhaps neutering but these birds are so tiny, is that a troublesome matter? Any information on this question would be really helpful. I'd prefer him to have a female partner because I often show him videos on YouTube of other finches, and I notice he particularly follows and sings to the area of the screen where the female is, he's so smart and enjoys this, I give him some short TV time everyday. Hopefully it quells any loneliness being the only bird here right now.