QUICK HELP!!

Is your finch sick or not well? Find out why.
toothlessjaws

well whoever said bad luck comes in threes - for me its looking for like fours.

in short - orangebreast hen. noticed she looked a bit slow and fluffed up this morning as the two OB hens are usually the tamest and fly over to me for breakdfast cucumber every morning.

so i got home from work and caught her. only to discover she has some sort of hardened bloody mess coming from her vent. i can't for the life of me work out what it is and i didn't think it wise to try and remove it manually.

i have placed her in a small box indoors with water.

any advice? i didn't think blood was a usual sign of egg binding, unless the egg has broken? i have a feeling she is not long for this world...
flippenheck

Do you have a hospital cage that you can place the bird in?? If so, place it in a smaller cage and place a light onto it. I have a red heat lamp. The bird maybe egg bound, but I am no expert. As I have said in another post, the sick birds respond well to heat. See what happens and good luck :roll:
toothlessjaws

my "hospital cage" is currently my "quarantine cage" and has inhabitants.

its in a travel box. in a very quiet but heated room in the house. do i need more heat than room temperature?
finchbreeder
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Try putting a low wattage globe in a bed lamp right next to the carry box she is in for a bit more heat, and make sure she has plenty of water with maybe a little "spark" in and cross your fingers.
Cause it does sound like it could be an egg broken internally.
LML
LML
toothlessjaws

thanks for the help guys. sadly she didn't make it through the night.

pretty sure it was an internally broken eggbinding. she was actually my tamest little finch. was not far off getting her feeding from my hand..... :cry:

over the years i've had turtles, lizards, fowl, newts, frogs and always enjoyed exceptional longevity in my charges.

this hobby is damn heartbreaking!!!
cranberry