Black-Throated Finch Conservation

Parsons and Diggles
Includes Species Profiles
GregH

We've all heard of the Save the Gouldian Fund but there is another dedicated group, the Black-Throated Finch Recovery Team over-looking conservation of this finch.
mickw

GregH wrote:We've all heard of the Save the Gouldian Fund but there is another dedicated group, the Black-Throated Finch Recovery Team over-looking conservation of this finch.
Thanks Greg, I better tell 'em about another 4 I've seen in my backyard 8-)
stanleytata

Thanks guys,

I am a PhD student currently working with JCU, CSIRO and the Black-throated Finch Recovery Team to research on the molecular ecology of this species in the wild as well as captive populations. So, if you have seen any of this bird, please report it to the recovery team or me at [email protected].

I have only just started my project late last year, but as it progresses, I will update my research accordingly. If anyone is interested, feel free to contact me too!

Many thanks. Stanley
Support and protect the Black-throated Finch (Poephila cincta).
Visit http://www.blackthroatedfinch.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
SamDavis

Best wishes with the project Stanley.
I'm sure there are numerous finchos (including me!) on this forum who would love to be kept up to date with your research. Perhaps a definition of the term "molecular ecology " might start the ball rolling as to my simple brain the two words are not immediately related. Is it to do with studying minute bacteria and disease organisms affecting the finches?
No doubt some of us can assist with regard to husbandy of captive populations. I don't currently keep Parsons but have done in the past.
And welcome to the forum.
Sam
GregH