Dutch Law Bans hand-rearing of Young Parrots: What's Your Op

findi

Hi, Frank Indiviglio here. I’m a zoologist and book author, recently retired from a career spent at several zoos, aquariums, and museums, including over 20 years with the Bronx Zoo.
This month (July, 2014) the Netherlands became the first country to outlaw the hand-rearing of parrots. The law covers all Psittacines, including parakeets, cockatoos and lovebirds, and imposes fines and/or jail time upon violators. Bird breeders and private owners may not remove nestlings from their parents before the young are feeding on their own and otherwise independent; species-specific time frames are set out in the legislation. The process of hand-rearing, long touted as a means of bonding parrots to people, has been linked to a host of behavioral and health problems. While several countries extend similar protections to young dogs, cats and monkeys, the Dutch law is the first to include birds. Read the rest of the article here http://bit.ly/1oZUQBH
Please also check out my posts on Twitter http://bit.ly/13pzqCu and Face Book http://on.fb.me/KckP1m

My Bio, with photos of animals I’ve been lucky enough to work with http://bitly.com/LC8Lbp

Thanks, Frank
Tiaris

All I can say about that is the Dutch legislators must have plenty of spare time & crime rates in Holland must be incredibly low.
findi

Tiaris wrote:All I can say about that is the Dutch legislators must have plenty of spare time & crime rates in Holland must be incredibly low.

Thanks...I believe crime rates are low...but that may be due to the fact that quite a bit that is considered criminal elsewhere is legal (as far as I know!). Best, Frank
Craig52

I feel sorry for the Dutch being dominated by stupid laws and also agree with Tiaris. Myself and others are soon going in to bat for some silly proposed laws for keeping some foreign finches that have been here for 100 years and are expected to colonise our State. :thumbdown: Craig
arthur