soaking seed

For all your questions about diet and food for your finches
Jaanderson08

Hi everywhere i look people are using Vikon S to Soak seed, Do you need it to be successful, there seems to be some mystery about soaking seeds, Im just new to breeding Gouldians and want to give them the best diet as possible. Appreciate any advice

James
matcho

Okay "J"

This is what I do. All over and done with in 24 hours. I take a 750gm peanut butter jar ( which I have had for 6 years,) screw lid which has holes drilled in it. Fill it up nearly to the top then add about a little fingernail full of Virkon. Add water and let soak for at least 6 hours (7am). Early arvo upend and drain water. I am lucky in that I have a 4ft aquarium with light so I sit it there overnight. Nice and warm and light. Next morning rinse the seed in a fine sieve , to get rid of the dirt etc(looks pretty bad with brown water, rinse until clear) then let it soak in water for 10 minutes or so with a touch of Virkon . Rinse again through the sieve and let drain. Most has just chitted.

Hands on about 5 minutes over th 24 hour period. Sounds fiddly but pretty simple.

Done and dusted.

Put it in the fridge and feed out as needed.

There is one thing though, you need quality seed, otherwise it is a waste of time. It will be only soaked, not chitted or sprouted. If you want it sprouted go another 12/ 24 hours but I find chitted is better.

Ken.
Last edited by matcho on 01 Jun 2015, 21:22, edited 1 time in total.
Tiaris

You certainly don't need Virkon to successfully soak/sprout seed. It is just one of the more recent & more effective disinfectants used for this purpose to prevent contamination of soaked & sprouted seed. You could use other disinfectants, or none as long as you thoroughly rinse the soaked seed under running water (more than once ideally).